My first Mother’s Day as a mom

My very first Mother’s Day. It was a very special milestone for me. One that I wasn’t really thinking about in advance. You think about the major holidays like Christmas, Thanksgiving, and Halloween, and how spectacular they are going to be. But somehow you overlook the significance of your very first Mother’s Day until it’s almost upon you. In the past, it has always been about honoring my mom and my grandma. I had so much to be thankful for and I spent each Mother’s Day trying to show them just how grateful I am to have them. This year it was about so much more. It was my very first Mother’s Day as a mom, my mom’s first one as a grandma, and my grandma’s first one as a great grandma. We had so much to celebrate, and I couldn’t wait to do it!

I wanted to plan a special brunch for my family in honor of my grandma, my mom, and Krystal for Mother’s Day. I was really excited about it. I planned a fabulous menu and put together some spectacular gifts. I couldn’t wait until the day finally came. I was so incredibly excited to show my family how special they are to me and Aaliyah. I spent most of the week before, putting together Mother’s Day gifts. Shelby and I made footprint tiles for my mom and grandma and a handprint tile for Krystal. I also put together some pop top candy tins as favors for the table. Nothing too spectacular. Just a little something special.

We celebrated at my grandparents’ house. We love to spend time over there. It is the most beautiful setting ever and one of my favorite places in the world. It was a beautiful sunny day with a nice cool breeze. The best kind of California weather. My mom set up a table outside in the backyard under my favorite tree. We decorated the table with Mother’s Day messages and flowers. The stage was set for our special family celebration.

The menu I planned was very decadent. I couldn’t wait to prepare it. We began with fresh fruit – strawberries, watermelon, blackberries, pineapple, and blueberries. Then I baked up a savory individual tomato basil frittata and some spicy breakfast potatoes to accompany them. My mom also fried up some of her delicious crispy bacon. She makes the best bacon and I am still learning. And to finish things up, I prepared my extra special French Toast with blackberry butter, powdered sugar and boysenberry syrup. It was a menu to die for and I couldn’t wait to prepare it.

I was running behind in the morning. George and I had stayed out late the night before visiting with his sister and her boyfriend. So I missed my mark for the beginning of brunch. My brother made sure that I knew that – Sibling rivalry and all. But it all came together perfectly. Even Cory admitted he was won over and it was worth the wait. It was a great afternoon. The best people I know all in my favorite place in the world, laughing and talking. It’s moments like these when I just sit back and smile. They make everything worthwhile. All of the work and the preparation seems to pale in comparison to all of the happiness. My family is the most important thing to me and this Mother’s Day was extra special for all of us.

The only negative part of my day, was that George had to work all day. I wished he could have been there, but you can’t have everything. But he still managed to make me feel special. He showed up for dinner at my parents’ house that night with the sweetest card and a new Willow Tree figurine for our collection. It was a beautiful Mother’s Day. And it was my very first one ever!

Leave a Reply

