DIY Mothers Day Gifts – part 2

Mother’s Day is rapidly approaching. It’s only a few days away and I know some of you are beginning to scramble to put together some gifts for your mothers and grandmothers. Last week we celebrated mothers by spending the whole week doing special projects for those special women in our lives. I wanted to make an amendment to the handprint tile project from last Thursday. This weekend when I tried to do these with my baby girl, I discovered how difficult it is to get a 9 month old’s handprint. Well, it’s impossible really. So I had to come up with a new project. I didn’t want to scrap the whole idea, because it’s just too cute. So here is what I came up with.

If, like me, you have a baby or a toddler who is squirmy and difficult to print, here is a much easier tile keepsake to make. It is a lot easier to obtain a footprint than a handprint. It will still probably require two people to obtain a legible footprint, but at least it’s doable. You may need to do a little patchwork with a paintbrush though.

Footprint Tile Keepsake

Materials:
6″ x 6″ ceramic tile
Acrylic paint (any color)
Glass Pen (any color)
Cute little foot
Picture Stand

Follow this link to the previous tutorial DIY Handprint Tile

I provided a step by step tutorial for how to make these keepsakes. If you click on the link above, you can see how I created these fun little gifts. I created two different ones, because I didn’t want to have too many of the same tiles floating around. I want my mom and grandma to feel special.

Grandma’s Little Angel

A Child Leaves an Imprint

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

